A Visit to Dastkar Nature Bazaar

Standard

Two years ago I saw a picture of really beautiful rajasthani juttis in the What’s Hot supplement that comes with TOI every Friday and immediately I knew that I have to visit this place. It was Dastkar Nature and Craft Bazaar. My sister, being a student of fashion designing, does not need to be coaxed to accompany me to such places. She is very passionate for crafts and I was amazed to see the work there.

Dastkar is a society for crafts and craftspeople which promotes rural handicrafts and works for the upliftment of tribal and underprivileged artisans. It celebrates the season of spring and thus the bazaar is held twice a year in Delhi, i.e in Feburary and October. It has already started for October. 8th October was the first day and it is till 19th October’11 @ Crafts Museum, Pragati Maidan, Delhi from 10.30 am-7.30 pm showcasing a gamut of quality crafts from across India. Being a regular visitor of this bazaar, this time I couldn’t contain my excitement and I went there on the very first day.

Just the experience of walking through this bazaar is lovely. The products there are out of this world and are an epitome of creativity as one cannot find them anywhere and everywhere. Workshops like pottery workshops, etc.  and cultural performances are also held there.

This was a colorful and animated pupeteering which I saw.

This year’s theme is camel and you will find products made from Camel wool, camel dung and camel milk.

For foodies like me out there I must tell you that you will be really disappointed. The food stalls have ok-ok food and this time visitors don’t have much choice. Just three stalls there- Rajasthani food, Hyderabadi Biryani and a Chaat Stall.

Now some goodies for the eyecandy

Jaipuri colourful chappals

This stall was by Prabhat NGO where everything was made of waste

An E-waste Mandir

An NGO called Hathi Chhap Showcasing products made out of elephant’s poop 😛

And these hathi chashme also…they were really cute

So if you are all for crafts like me, then this place is a must visit otherwise also I suggest you to go there. Who knows you might fall in love with crafts.


About Chhavi Pruthi

Being a married woman! It's a tough job! It's being on call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week & 12 months a year. You cook! You kiss! You pray! You sweep! You teach! You plan! You shop! You Love! One has to become a woman of many talents. We all need a little help from time to time and that's when I decided to create a platform for my homemaking diaries. A place where I can share my personal experiences and can learn from fellow homemakers in the cyber world.

Leave a Reply

